Family Solstice Book cover, black and white photo of ominous house in winter

 In Family Solstice Maruyama deftly lures you into the cozy life of a quintessential New England family, while building the prickling sense that something darker is lurking just underneath. The suspense exquisitely builds until the tale takes a horrific turn, making you wonder which monsters are worse—the ones we fight, or the ones we’re willing to live with. Maruyama is a masterful storyteller who manages to keep it creepy but also thought-provoking, and the strong-willed Shea, our bright, coming-of-age narrator, make this novella hard to put down. Fans of We Have Always Lived in the Castle and A Head Full of Ghosts will be thrilled. -J Lincoln Fenn, author of The Night Marchers.

Kate Maruyama's Family Solstice isn't just heartfelt, disturbing and wonderfully written, it's also a brilliant dissection of family dynamics and (yes, really) America's troubled history. I can't recommend it highly enough. -- Lisa Morton, six time winner of the Bram Stoker Award.

The Massey family loves their house. It’s been in the family for generations, and the land on which it sits has been with them even longer. In the summer everyone comes through to visit and the house is alive with family friends, barbecues and lobster boils. But come fall, the mood shifts as all of the kids start training for their turn in the basement.

Shea, the youngest Massey is training extra hard. She’s thirteen and that means this is her year to battle on Solstice. Her older siblings won’t tell her exactly what’s in the basement, you don’t know until you’re fighting it. She’s excited finally to be in the know.

She does know that whatever happens in the basement every December 21 makes it possible for the Masseys to spend the rest of the year enjoying their home and all that it brings. It is her family duty.

But something about this year is different. Mama’s extra quiet this fall, and the house is breathing early.

Maruyama explores the dangers of tradition, inheritance, and the sins of the father in this horror novella.